So your partner has kids/you’re a stepmom….

So your partner has kids/you’re a stepmom

Sorry for change of plans- I was going to post another DVD review but will now do it on Tuesday.

Instead, a more personal topic:

What do you do/how do you cope with your partner’s kid/kids?

I’ve gottta say it has been a steep learning curve with me and Mr A. He has got 3 little monsters:

2 girls A (who is 6), C (who is 7) and a boy E (who is almost 10).

Depending on his work pattern we either get them Saturday midday till Sunday evening or if he’s working on Sat his parents will pick them up and drop them off at ours round 6ish. On the odd occasion that Mr A is working for the whole weekend his parents keep them kids and he goes over straight after work till 11pm to spend the evening with them.

For the most part that works for me, but there are some weekends when I wish we would get to do the stuff that I want to do. I don’t think that it helps that I don’t have kids of my own and no intention of having any either. Lately, a lot of my favourite bloggers are either pregnant or have babies and at times (I may get flamed for it) I find it hard to relate to their posts. I do still read them trying to find tips on how to handle three kids all wanting to do different stuff, all making noise and messing up my little house. I know it is completely normal, but if I am to be honest it doesn’t make it any better.

I have been having short meldowns most weekends for the past month or so (tears, lip pulling and all that jazz) over at times not the most significant things.

Like this morning the girls were jumping up and down the bed and haven’t sorted their toys. I think part of the problem is I am not their parent and therefore don’t feel like I can discipline them. Also, I feel that I would do certain things differently from Mr A when it comes to dealing with their behaviour. At times, I feel like a prisoner in my own house..kids and Mr A downstairs watching some kids programme and me upstairs in our bedroom on my laptop.

I don’t think it is an ideal situation for anyone and I know it’s still early days (we’ve only been living together since October) but if anyone has got any experience of handling kids that are not your own and not being reduced to tears I would really appreciate that. Maybe you can point me in the direction of some bloggers who touch on that topic?

Now onto food and exercise bit:

Yesterday was my rest day and my cheat meal as well. For some reason I have been dying to have some trifle but alas can’t as the sponge contains wheat. I managed to persuade (read whine over and over) Mr A to bake me a sponge, I fixed Hartley’s sugarfree jelly and used a tin of low fat custard plus squirty cream and voila–>

bottom layer

Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App

middle layer
Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App

all ready to be devoured

Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App

Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App

Fear not it was not the only thing I have eaten all day. As we are trying to empty our freezer (AND I was feeling lazy) I reheated one of turkey and lentil stews
Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App

Minimum cleanup is the best (yes I do have more plastic containers but this one is my favourite and the biggest one)

Today I was hoping to start my day with coconut flour waffles but they turned out absolutely crap so being starved by then I settled for 2nd best thing porridge with peaches, protein powder, chia seeds, cinammon and coconut oil

Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App

Once more my lunch was curtousy of the freezer (carrot and swede soup with chicken breast and spelt pasta)

Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App

 

I more than likely will consume some frozen yoghurt after my yoga session with Mr A (yay) while I’m watching Dancing on Ice finale. Now onto finishing reorganising my wardrobe (bye bye winter, hello spring/summer)

 

How was your weekend?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Tamzin
    Mar 31, 2012 @ 07:23:42

    I wish I could advisebut alas I have no experience with the kids thing, I hope toucan find a solution x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

