My back and figure skating story

Hiya,

So because I didn’t quite get round to photographing my food today (bad blogger me) I thought I’d do a full post on my back injury.

So…once upon a time in a land far, far away where polar bears walked the streets (aka Poland) a 4 year old girl started figure skating. It was something that her granddad and dad have done and her auntie trained top dance figure skating pairs for this magical land.

The girl cried the 1sdt time she got on the ice and when she met her coach but soon she was spending 6 days a week, normally twice a day at the ice rink. It soon became her second home.

If you’re still following that girl was me. I was a competetive solo skater till the age of 14 when I tore my ligament. Plus my body changing (with the hips and boobs didn’t help either as it throws most teenage female skaters pretty off for a bit). I spent Mon-Sat at the ice rink couple of hours before school and couple of hours after (not to mention extra dance, gymnastics or swimming sessions). I adored it and even placed 3rd in the country at the age of 8 (my claim to fame). Which doens’t say that much considering Poland has not produced a single decent male or female skater in the last 15 years, but I loved having the whole of the ice rink to myself, I loved the speed and I loved the attention.

However, as any competative sportsperson I did pick up an injury here or there even before my grand finale of the injury. After I was done at 14 I went back to being a reguklar teenager and for a number of years (first out of anger, then out of laziness) I did not do anyting exercisey at all.

It changed couple of years ago when I got really really unhappy with how I looked. Granted,  my expectations were a lot higher than a *regular* persons due to my figure skating past but I felt fat nonetheless and changed it.

All was great for a while but then I picked up a right calf strain, then another, thenmy left cal was complaining, then my hip flexors were extremely tight, then my shins wre getting worse. And in the background I had a dull back pain as well. For over a year, just to keep myself moving and able to do ridiculous amount of exercise (we are talking between 10-15 hrs every week with 3 classes back to back), I was getting sports massage every two weeks. I got new trainers, I got knee and calf supports, I lowered the impact, I dropped the amount of hours at the gym and I was still complaining of lower body strains. That’s when my lovely sports therapist suggested I go and see her colleague in the practice who was a physiotherapist.

Don’t get me wrong I have seen physios before when I was competing and yes they would get me out of pain (hello cortison injections) but it would come back sooner or later.

This time it was different- during the first appointment after looking at my spine my physiotherapist told me that I must have either been a ballerina, a gymnast or a figure skater- all that from looking at my spine!!!

 

It turns out that my back problem is a typical one of the competetive world. Those 3 sports have a lot in common- the need for elongaged, feminine figure which is achieve by pushing your upper body forward

 

source

 

Yes, it does look fabulous but as I have done this for 10 years that’s what my body was doing now skates or no skates!!!

And this resulted in my bottom vertabreas being crunched together (hence the pain) and my ahmstrings doing 80% of the work! For everyone else they should be doing about 10-20% ? My glutes have been taking a nap for the past 15-20 years and that was why I was constantly picking up injuries so now for the past 10 weeks I have been doing physiotherapy exercises religiously to get myself back into a better place.

 

So that’s my story in a nuthsell 🙂

 

What injuries have you picked up along the way?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tamzin
    Mar 16, 2012 @ 16:42:24

    Ouch! I have tore they scales at the bottom of my spine a couple of years ago and couldn’t do anything for 6 months it was bloody hell! That’s why I have a weak lower back but the Bikram us sorting that out as long as I don’t push it too far! I also suffer from shin splints when I start running which sucks! X

    Reply

Leave a Reply

