Goodies and a week from hell

Sorry for being MIA for the last 10 days of so..I got an invite for a selection test for clinical psychology and buried myself in the books..

Unfortunately, it doesn’t look like it worked as I run out of time big time and beeing moping around the house ever since.

So to perk myself up I did a spot of shopping and am on my way out for some more now, hopefully my biggest purchase will turn up on Tuesday so stay tuned lol.

So recently got an order from Goodness Direct and also nipped into Asian supermarket near me and here’s what I got:

Photobucket

At the top we have a gutted Tilapia fish that I have been dying to try (thank got Mr A was a butcher and now a chef so will know what to do with it as it creeps me out in its surrent state). I thought it was very reasonably priced comapred to big supermarkets as it’s only set me back £1.87 for over 500 grams

I got a big bag of red and wild rice and a smaller bag of black rice as I’ve only ever tried white and brown rice. I think they were £2.99 and £1.49 respectively.

I got a small bag of Matcha powder as everyone been raving about it for long enough (especially Laura) so planning to add it to some smoothies that I will be incorporating into my diet from next week. It was pretty pricey at £4.99 for 50grams, I know I could get it cheaper online but just wanted to try a small quantity first.

Got 2 fancy pairs of chopsticks coz never properly tried eating with them (let’s be honest I figured it’d take me longer to eat my tea with them so hopefully won’t be hungy after 😉 )

My top thing to try are definitely shirataki noodles, otherwise known as yam noodles. As wikipedia explains they are:

Shirataki (白滝?, often written with the hiragana しらたき) are very low carbohydrate, low calorie, thin, translucent, gelatinous traditional Japanese noodles made from devil’s tongue yam (elephant yam or the konjac yam).[1] The word “shirataki” means “white waterfall”, describing the appearance of these noodles. Largely composed of water and glucomannan, a water-soluble dietary fiber, they have little flavor of their own.

Photobucket

They have zero net carbs and are gluten free so thought I’d give them a whirl. When having my dinner I do struggle with not having ”carbs” on my plate so have been using mashed cauliflower to replace them so maybe those noodles will help too. They are £1.49 per packet and hopefully one packet will be big enough for 2 servings.

Lastly, I got some edamame pods, I tried normal edamame beans before so will need to look up a recipe for pods.

Then my Goodness Dorect order was not quite as adventurous
Photobucket

As it contained 4x gluten free white flour
4x glyten free self raising flour
2x1kg bag of xylitol
unpictured box of carob powder
and random still orange flavoured water

Very much needed for bakling and cooking and have already used up half a bag of flour.

Question time: What’s your favourite product to buy from a health store?

Leave a Reply

